Red Curry Shrimp Tacos

lunch-July21-13

Over the weekend i was introduced to Thai Kitchen’s Red Curry Paste. I am in love! (Ingredients: Red Chili, Garlic, Lemongrass, Galangal (Thai Ginger), Salt, Onion, Kaffir Lime, Coriander, Pepper – ALL CLEAN!) The love child that resulted from my affair is my delicious lunch for the week – Red Curry Shrimp Tacos! So simple to make.

Ingredients:

  • Baby Shrimp (pre-cooked)
  • Thai Kitchen Red Curry Paste
  • Cabbage Mix
  • Olive Oil
  • Vinegar
  • S+P
  • Coconut Flour
  • Egg Whites
  • Coconut Oil

Instructions:

  1. Heat shrimp in a covered pan. Drain excess water. (You’re supposed to thaw them out first, but I am not one to read the instructions apparently…)
  2. Add the curry paste and heat another minute. The shrimp are pre-cooked, so we are really just heating them up, and getting them all saucy!
  3. I stored these in a Tupperware and eat about 100g of shrimp per lunch.
  4. For the slaw, I just topped some pre-cut cabbage with equal parts EVOO and vinegar, plus a little salt and pepper.
  5. The tortillas I home-made, but you can also use a lettuce leaf or a store bought wrap. My wraps are super simple and quick to make though!
  6. Mix 4 egg whites with 3 tablespoons coconut flour. Add any spices you want to the mix. Add some water to make the batter a little more manageable (the batter will be thick, you will have to spread it out with a spatula to form a circle.)
  7. Heat 1 Tablespoon coconut oil in a pan over medium heat.
  8. Depending on the size you want, make 1-3 tortillas.
  9. I bring all of these components to work separately and have a little taco party at my desk during lunch. I top my taco with some Wasabi Mustard (I add Wasabi paste to my Yellow+Dijon mustard mix until I reach my spicy quota.)

I love this little container for my lunches. It has 4 separate compartments to avoid food-touching-grossness & you don’t need to lug a bagful of containers through the office (I got it at Walmart.) I also had a little “dessert” with my lunches this week:

Sweet Potato & Pumpkin Mash

Ingredients:

  • Sweet Potato
  • Canned Pure Pumpkin
  • Cinnamon
  • Stevia

Instructions:

  1. Bake a sweet potato in the oven until a fork can pierce easily (may take up to an hour.)
  2. Let cool and then peel the skin off.
  3. Combine equal parts sweet potato & canned pure pumpkin with a hand mixer.
  4. Add cinnamon & stevia to taste.

This feels like your eating pumpkin pie filling, but it is super healthy and gets you some nice complex carbs to round out your lunch. Sweetness.

Leave a Reply

