Lunchin’ for the Week – Broccoli Quinoa Pasta with Egg White Cups

broccolipastacollage

I had a tough time deciding what to have for lunch this week because it is MY BIRTHDAY WEEK – and I want everything to be fantastic! I may change it up for my actual bday (August 1st – this Thursday :D), but for now here is what is on the menu: Broccoli Quinoa Pasta with Egg White Cups. So simple, but delicious. On Sunday night I prepped the pasta for the week (Monday to Thursday, since Friday is a vacation for me.) I make the egg cups every morning, I don’t know for sure, but I think they may become slimy if left too long – no thank you!

GARLIC SCAPE PESTO

I received these herb cubes as a gift from my friend Heather, such a great cook! She grew the herbs herself, and froze them in an ice cube tray – a great way to preserve fresh herbs. Just combine the following ingredients in a blender or food processor and transfer to an ice cube tray. Freeze and store in ziploc bags. These do make great little gifts!

  • Garlic Scape (curled flower from the top of a garlic plant)
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Olive Oil
  • Lemon Juice
  • Ground Black Pepper

BROCCOLI QUINOA PASTA

I like quinoa pasta for its texture and stellar nutritional value, but any gluten free pasta will do. Quinoa is a good source of amino acids, enzymes, vitamins, minerals, fiber, antioxidants and phytonutrients. Quinoa is a complete protein and contains all nine essential amino acids the body requires to build muscles. Quinoa is also a good source folate and phytochemicals – (www.livestrong.com). 

Ingredients:

  • 1 package Quinoa Pasta
  • 1 head Broccoli
  • EVOO
  • Herb cube

Instructions:

  1. Cook pasta as directed.
  2. Cut broccoli into long spears and steam slightly.
  3. Combine pasta & broccoli in a wok, drizzle with EVOO & toss in a herb cube or two.
  4. Let cool & divide into individual containers for the week.

eggwhitecups

EGG WHITE CUPS

These are ridiculously simple to make. I think they would be great for kids as well. I kept it really simple this week with mushrooms and tomatoes, but next time I will try a different combo. The possibilities are endless; balsamic onion, chicken & goat cheese OR green pepper, ham & cheddar OR try lining the cup with a piece of bacon or lunch meat.

Ingredients:

  • Liquid Egg Whites
  • Mushrooms
  • Cherry Tomatoes

Instructions:

  1. Spray a muffin tin & preheat oven to 350.
  2. I put 1 cherry tomato cut in half and a couple of mushrooms in each muffin cup. (TIP – don’t add too many ‘topping’ or the egg cup won’t hold together)
  3. Fill with egg whites and pop in the oven.
  4. Wait until center is cooked. Let cool and move to containers.

For lunch this week, I brought a 2 cup container with the Broccoli Quinoa Pasta and 6 Egg White Cups. A well rounded, satisfying lunch. We have a staff lunch on Thursday where they are bringing in pulled pork, beans and coleslaw. I prefer to bring my own lunch to these events. If I’m going to have a ‘cheat’ meal, I am going to make damn sure it is worth it – and staff lunches are often not. I will receive a few jests about my healthy lunch, but nothing I can’t handle. I’ve got goals people! Happy Tuesday!

eggwhitecups-container

MACROS: 399 Calories — 8.6 g Fat — 53.7 g Carbs — 24.5 g Protein

2 Comments on “Lunchin’ for the Week – Broccoli Quinoa Pasta with Egg White Cups

  1. nom nom nom looks really good and healthy 🙂 I am new here and watch for some nice blogs like yours. maybe you want visit mine too . perfectskinny.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

