Steak & Beet Kale Salad

steakkalesalad

Every time I go to the farmer’s market I leave saying, “I should have come here with a plan,” the next time roles around – no plan, uhg! So what we have here are the items that looked good at the market thrown together to look somewhat presentable: Steak & Beet Kale Salad. I have 3 Farmer’s Markets close by to choose from, but the St. Jacob’s one is my favourite. I am going to try and to buy the majority of my produce from markets only. Not only do the products look so much better, but they are sustainable farmed and local. This past weeks purchases included: kale, potatoes, beets, peas, strawberries, broccoli and garlic. Next week’s purchases must include pork lard! I will explain soon why…

I am lucky enough to have a butcher for a dad, he has a family owned and operated custom meat shop. All of my meat comes from local farms and is of the highest quality – I am spoiled this way. I must buy my poultry & seafood elsewhere however.

Ingredients:

  • Steak (I had a strip loin, it wasn’t the most tender cut though)
  • Spices (No salt added)
  • Baby Potatoes
  • EVOO
  • Garlic Minced
  • Kale
  • Peas (Fresh if possible)
  • Beets (Fresh)

Salad Dressing Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c EVOO
  • 1/4 c Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1/4 c Lemon Juice
  • S + P

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 & bring a large pot of water to boil on the stove.
  2. Cut the ends of fresh beets and wash. Place in boiling water until fork goes through easily. (To speed this process up cut the beets into smaller chunks)
  3. Cut baby potatoes (I used red ones) in half. Toss in some EVOO and minced garlic. Place on a baking sheet and pop in the oven.
  4. Cover steak in steak spice of your choosing (check the ingredients!) & preheat BBQ or I used a George Foreman Grill.
  5. Tear kale into bite sized pieces and place in a large bowl.
  6. To create the salad dressing combine ingredients to your liking. My measurements are guesstimates and this made a ton of dressing! For the salad you only really need a tablespoon or two. Store extra in the fridge.
  7. Start with one tablespoon of dressing on top of the kale and massage the dressing in with your hands. (Literally giving these leaves a full body massage – I was jealous.) This helps to use less dressing because each leaf will be coated, and massaging helps to remove some of the bitterness that is often associated with kale. Add more dressing as needed – be careful not to over do it on the dressing!
  8. Heat fresh peas.
  9. When beets are cooked, drain and rinse with cold water. Let cool so you can handle them easily.
  10. Start grilling your steak! Be sure not to overcook it like I did, oopsies.
  11. Peel the skin off the beets, it should come off quite easily (if you have full red beets, not striped like mine, be sure to wear gloves for this or you will be living with pink hands for the next few days.) Cut into bite sized pieces.
  12. Layer salad – kale, peas, beets. Top with your perfectly cooked steak.
  13. Serve with a side of garlic-y baby potatoes.

These instructions make this seem more complicated than it is. Just cook everything and put it in a salad! It’s a salad, so doesn’t really matter if everything is heated correctly. This ended up being a massive salad, and I couldn’t actually finish it. So unlike me! I ate the second half of it cold the next day. Still delish.

Peas Please!

Although these are not my favourite, I picked these up at the farmers market because they looked so damn good, and already shelled! Check these babies out ↓↓↓

freshpeas

MACROS: 509 Calories — 21.7 g Fat — 38.6 g Carbs — 43.4 g Protein

Leave a Reply

