August Goals

August 1st – HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME! Today marks a new month, which means fresh start. Let’s make some goals! These are my goals for the month. Hoping that sharing them on here will help me to stick with it!

  1. Buy my produce organic from the farmer’s market
  2. Yoga at least once a week
  3. Run at least once a week (working towards 4 km – my colour run is coming up quickly!)
  4. No snacking (eat off of plates only – no out of container!)
  5. Drink 1 gallon/4 L of water a day
  6. 14 hour fast minimum (IF*)

*IF (Intermittent Fasting) is something that I have been following for a while now. I am no expert, but for more information check our Lean Gains. 

For tips on setting and achieving your own goals check out my post here!

On my birthday note, check out what my lovely best friend Kelsi got me:

books

Two great new books (along with other things – just spoiled!! :D) to expand my knowledge, love it! The top book is Superfoods by David Wolfe. I am so intrigued by the power of food and the effect it can have on our body. This book outlines “The Food and Medicine of the Future” through a detailed collection of the top 10 Superfoods as well as some honorable mentions. Check out more about the author here.

The second book is Beyond Bacon by Stacy Toth & Matthew McCarry, “Paleo Recipes That Respect the Whole Pig.” This book is the reason I am in search of pork lard this week at the farmers market! Not only does this book provide over 100 Paleo recipes but it also talks about fat content and our health, how to order meat and find a farmer, and how to use/cook all of the animal. I am really excited to try some of these recipes (& so is my family!) The author’s of this book started as a blog, Paleo Parents, and have another book called Eat Like a Dinosaur.

I now have Friday and Monday off for the Canadian Civic long weekend, what a nice birthday present! Lots of time to celebrate, relax & try new recipes.

What are your goals for the month?

 

Leave a Reply

