I’m Feeling Paleo

I’m back! I’ve taken a little break… I tried macro tracking for a while, then became a hermit as a result. Counting every last gram did not work for me. (Well it worked physically, but not so much emotionally.) Personally, I find that tracking/counting macros/calories led me to have an unhealthy relationship with food. I got back to my regular clean intuitive eating probably around Nov/Dec. All was going swimmingly, until my first all inclusive vacation… Oh, em, gee. I regret nothing! 

Image

I decided to forgo thinking about anything to do with nutrition or macros or calories. It was glorious! Basically, it was 3 course meals for breakfast lunch and dinner. I was still gluten free, but aside from that everything was free game. Surprisingly, I felt amazing! This really showed me that stress plays a huge role in your digestive function. Now if I could only live on a beach, stress free for the rest of my life! Since that isn’t going to happen (any time soon anyways :P)… It is back to real life.

I came back with a ridiculous sugar addiction. I NEEDED that shiz! After I ate anything, I craved something sweet like a crack addiction feinding for a hit. I was home for a week before I was off to BC for 2 weeks on business, living out of hotels, my suitcase and a rental car. 

 Image

(MY BC TRIP: A. Not entirely stoked to go on this trip… I knew the long drives ahead of me. B. Healthy airport eats, YYZ is stepping up it’s game – nice to see! C. Dominican gains, the booty appreciated my crazy carb load. D. Hotel life does not = Vacation mode. Still hitting the (usually empty) gym. E. I do actually ‘work bitch’. Back alley lingerie dealings. F. Hello obliques! These were a nice surprise. G. Crazy snow, crazy cold, crazy avalanche highways. H. Ferry rides were a nice change from the miles and miles of driving.)

In the end, I put 5500 Kms on my rental car, met a lot of really great customers for the first time, and spent hours upon hours on my podcast app. WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN ALL MY LIFE PODCASTS?! What an awesome way to pass the time. I highly recommend. They made my crazy drives, dare I say it, enjoyable! 

I started with Latest in Paleo which led me to Balanced Bites hosted by Diane Sanfilippo and Liz Wolf. I was in love! Although I was already basically eating Paleo just by default, I didn’t really understand what it was all about until I listened to Daine and Liz for hours on end. Their natural conversation made it so much easier for me to understand. After listening to a few episodes I bought Daine’s book Practical Paleo and the 21 Day Sugar Detox. (As well as Liz’s Skintervention Guide, but we will get to that later!) I love to try new things, and honestly, the way Liz and Diane talk about nutrition, food, and health just makes sense to me. Although, like I said, already basically ate Paleo, I didn’t understand why to avoid certain foods, our body’s need for nutrients, or the need for high quality fats. As a result, I have decided to put myself through Diane’s 21DSD. I plan on letting you know how it goes! I am going to attempt to follow the meal plan to push myself to try foods that I otherwise would never try. HERE WE GO! 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

