21DSD – Day 4

Day 4 – Back to work today, but first it was arm day. For most of my exercises I first did a set of 3×10 Time Under Tension (which means 1 second concentric and 3 second eccentric – slowww) of as heavy weight as possible, followed by the same exercise 3×15 with a 15 second timed rest between sets (a lighter weight this time – trust me it will need to be). My muscles were on FIRE! It was beautiful. If you are getting bored of your routine, I highly suggest you throw some of these sets in there. You are definitely going to feel it the next day!
photo.PNG
Over the past day, I have been in the process of making my first batch of home made bone broth. It was pretty simple, just put some bones, water, salt and apple cider vinegar in a crock pot for 8-24 hours. The hardest part of the process was the storage/clean up! You have to scoop out these bones and other questionable bits, and then strain the broth through a fine strainer. This stuff is surprisingly gelatinous, as my counters can attest to! They were covered in this goo. You see, my strainer is very small, and my crock pot big… we had some casualties along the way. Also everything this stuff came in contact with had a film of greasy slim. I hope that does not put you off the stuff! The benefits definitely out weight the clean up process. Here are some taken from MindBodyGreen:

1. It heals a leaky gut. The gelatin in bone broth protects and heals the mucosal lining of the digestive tract and helps aid in the digestion of nutrients.
2. Fights infections such as colds and flu.  A study published in the journal Chest shows eating chicken soup during a respiratory infection reduces the number of white blood cells, which are the cells that cause flu and cold symptoms.
3. Reduces joint pain and inflammation.  The glucosamine in bone broth can actually stimulate the growth of new collagen, repair damaged joints and reduce pain and inflammation.
4. Produces gorgeous skin, hair and nails.  The collagen and gelatin in bone broth supports hair growth and helps to keep your nails strong.
5. Helps with bone formation, growth and repair.  The calcium, magnesium and phosphorus in bone broth helps our bones to grow and repair.
6. Saves you money.  Homemade bone broth is cheaper and healthier than store bought.
7. Super easy to make.  All you need is a crockpot. Throw all of the ingredients into the crockpot and it cooks while you sleep.
8. Healthier than buying supplements.  Homemade bone broth contains all nutrients and minerals found in bones and tendons rather than just one or two found in pills. Slow cooking preserves the nutrients better than the high heat extraction used to make supplements.
9. Fights inflammation.  Bone broth is very high in the anti-inflammatory amino acids glycine and proline.
10. Promotes sleep and calms the mind.  The amino acid glycine found in bone broth can be very calming.

– – –

Dinner Time 
I shuffled around the menu this week because I had to cook my mussels (eik!) up before they went bad. I have now come to realize why Daine suggested this Paella dish for day 7 (Sunday dinner). This recipe was extensive! Not something you just want to whip up after getting home from work. I left out the clams and shrimp, because I’m on a budget and 4 different meats for 1 meal is a little excessive for solo dining! I am still overly proud of these ‘firsts’ for me 1. having made my own broth. 2. making my own sausage. 3. cooking mussels. 4. using saffron. 5. making caulirice without it ending up covering the entire kitchen (thank you food processor).
mussels
These lil’ fellas scared the crap out of me for some reason. I was poking and prodding at the them like they were going to jump out and bites me. I survived, reassuring myself with “mussels for muscles, mussels for muscles” repeated aloud.

Putting this dish together was a lot of work, you weren’t sitting around waiting for it to finish cooking that’s for sure. It was timed beautifully though! Everything came together flawlessly. The mussels were surprisingly (coming from the seafood noob) the easiest part to cook! Steam ’em for a few minutes and that’s it.
paella
I just googled pictures of what Paella is supposed to look like… Mine is definitely lacking style points, but I thiiink it would still be recognized as the traditional dish?! #closeenough and better for you! 

bowlpaella

After making this feast, I had some time to spare so I pre-made tomorrow nights dinner since I have plans and won’t have much time after work. I am already looking forward to eating it (HINT: It’s asian inspired – my fave!) Day 4 down the hatch! Lata playas.

Leave a Reply

